About the North Texas Regional Library System (NTRLS)

The Texas Library System

NTRLS is one of the 10 regional library systems which, along with the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC), make up the Texas State Library System. The regional systems exist to promote and assist in the development of strong community libraries.

Texas public libraries which meet State accreditation standards earn membership in their regional system. Also eligible for membership are Texas public and private school libraries, the libraries of Texas academic institutions, and special libraries in Texas. Members receive benefits from the System office which include consulting, on-going training and support for individual programs such as automation and literacy. The System is responsible for setting policies and procedures for the services it provides to member libraries, but each member library remains autonomous.

The Texas Library Systems program is scheduled for elimination at the end of state fiscal year 2012.


Non-Profit Status

The North Texas Library System was established in 1969, along with the other nine systems, and changed its name to NTRLS in 1985 when it became the first Texas library system to acquire not-for-profit status as a private 501(c)(3) organization for the purpose of enlarging its funding base.

The non-profit organization changed its name to North Texas Library Partners in 2011.


Membership and Service Region

Current members of NTRLS include more than 70 public, school, academic, and special library entities in a 20-county region. Since multiple libraries funded by a single governmental entity are considered one library entity, the number of library buildings in the service area is nearly 100.

The region served encompasses a geographic area of 16,489 square miles and a diverse service population of nearly 2.5 million.

The following counties make up the region served by NTRLS:

Archer * Baylor * Clay * Cottle * Denton * Erath * Foard * Hardeman * Hood * Jack *
Johnson * Montague * Palo Pinto * Parker * Somervell * Tarrant * Wichita * Wilbarger * Wise * Young

NTRLS Regional Map
Map showing NTRLS within Texas



Two-year Long Range Plan for FY2012 - FY2013
Two-year Long Range Plan for FY2010 - FY2011
Five-year Long Range Plan for FY2009 - FY2014